Stupid Calls

Writing about my stupid job and the stupid people who call into my stupid job and the stupid people who manage me at my stupid job should be very therapeutic. So here is a recount of a stupid conversation I had with a caller.

 

This was a busy day at work with back to back calls and some hold time for customers. Our automated message says something like ” We’re working hard to help you so hang tight and we’ll get to you as soon has possible”.

Me: Thanks for calling blah blah…. how can I help you

Them: (yells) HANG TIGHT! WHAT DOES THAT EVEN MEAN … I LOOKED IT UP IN THE DICTIONARY … DO YOU KNOW WHAT IT SAYS??? NOTHING!

Me: Pardon? Can I help you?

Them: I’VE BEEN ON HOLD FOREVER! YOU HANG  TIGHT!

Me: Sorry for the hold time can I get your number so I can help you?

Them: NO! YOU HANG TIGHT! BE NICE AND HANG TIGHT, HANG  TIGHT! HANG TIGHT! HANG TIGHT!

Me: Ok, I’ll hang tight but if you give me your number I can start working on your issue while I hang tight.

Them: (yelling everything they’re saying) NO YOU FUCKING HANG TIGHT! FUCK YOU IT’S YOUR TURN TO BE NICE AND HANG TIGHT!

Me: (hit mute button … wait a few min) ok do you want to tell me ….. (get cut off)

Them: YOU HANG TIGHT!  YOU HANG TIGHT!  YOU HANG TIGHT!  YOU HANG TIGHT!  YOU HANG TIGHT!  YOU HANG TIGHT! BE NICE! YOU HANG TIGHT!  YOU HANG TIGHT!  YOU HANG TIGHT!

Me: sit quietly  for a few minutes neither of us saying anything..

Them: YOU HANG  TIGHT! *click*

callcenterstupid

 

 

Leave a Reply

